News InSpotlight

Full list of winners at 47th SWAG Awards gala

The 47th Sports Writers Association of Ghana (SWAG) Awards was held on Saturday, January 28, 2023, at the Accra International Conference Centre.

The awards scheme, which is the longest-running event in the country, was held to award the sportsmen and women who contributed immensely and brought honour to the country in the year 2022.

Black Stars and Ajax star, Mohammed Kudus was the big winner on the night as he took home the Sports Personality of the Year and the Foreign-based Footballer of the Year awards.

Here are the full award winners from the 47th edition of the SWAG Awards gala:

Sports Personality of the Year
Mohammed Kudus

Footballer of the Year (Male)
Mohammed Kudus

Footballer of the Year (Home-based)
Daniel-Afriyie Barnieh

Footballer of the Year (Female)
Ophelia Serwaa Amponsah – Ampem Darkoa Ladies

Athlete of the Year (Male)
Joseph Paul Amoah

Athlete of the Year (Female)
Deborah Acquah

Amateur Boxer of the Year
Abraham Mensah

Club of the Year
Ampem Darkoa Ladies

Coach of the Year
Joe Nana Adarkwa – Ampem Darkoa Ladies

Discovery of the Year
Raphael Nii Ankrah

Armwrestler of the Year
Grace Mintah

Badminton Player of the Year
Alphous Kelvin

Chess Player of the Year
Dr Kwabena Adu Poku

Cricketer of the Year
Samson Awiah Aweh

Cyclist of the Year
Anthony Boafo Boakye Dankwa

Dedication and Valour
Lepowura M.N Jawula

Hockey Player of the Year
Adiztu Sulemana – GRA Ladies

Pro Golfer of the Year
Kojo Barnii

Table Tennis Player of the Year
Israel Akili

Tennis Player of the Year
Samuel Osei Agbesi Antwi

Volleyball Player of the Year
Rashaka Katadat – Ghana Army

Swimmer of the Year
Abeiku Gyekye Jackson

Para-Athlete of the Year
Patricia Nyamekye

SWAG Top 5 Federations
Ghana Athletics Association
Ghana Armwrestling Federation
Ghana Boxing Authority
Ghana Boxing Federation
Ghana Cycling Federation

Lifetime Achievement Award
Awuley Quaye
Nii Dodoo Ankrah

Special and Meritorious Award
Kingsley Owusu Achiaw – Bechem United
Reks Brobbey – Ghana’s Fastest Human
Christine Ashley – Chess
Ashford Tettey Oku – Football Administrator
Danny List – International Amateur Golfer
Rustum Gameli Senorgbe – Football Referee

Corporate Awards
Right to Dream Academy
iMax Media
OneonOne Foundation
Captain One Golf Society
Tennis Foundation

SWAG President’s Award
Charles Osei Asibey

SWAG Journalist of the Year
Juliet Bawuah

DISCLAIMER: The Views, Comments, Opinions, Contributions and Statements made by Readers and Contributors on this platform do not necessarily represent the views or policy of Multimedia Group Limited.


Liked this Article? You can share with others via various social media platforms. Got some information to share with us?
Send us your articles or advertisements enquiries via

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button